LEAD LIKE A SUPERHERO

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Sebastien Richard, and I have been a postal worker for the last 15 years. That’s my “day job” (for now). That’s me, in all of my Clark Kentness, or Peter Parkerness if you prefer. I’m just an ordinary dude who works in a warehouse where mail is processed for the province of Prince Edward Island, Canada.

But, when I’m summoned by people who need my special abilities (speaking, coaching, writing), I don the suit and tie and I’m a John Maxwell certified speaker, coach, and trainer! That’s when I add value to people. That’s when I am at my best and do what I love. That’s when I’m using my… well, superpowers!

Back in February 2016, while I was at work and listening to my mp3 player, I had an epiphany.

The strange thing about inspiration is that most of the time, we don’t know where it comes from. The best way I can describe it is that this inspiration, or Eureka moment, just ‘fell’ on me. Out of the blue, the very powerful thought came to me and I was elated! The thought was simply this: Most superheroes are GREAT LEADERS in their own right – and they lead in very different ways. And then, I quickly grabbed the nearest piece of paper I could find and I began listing them, and writing, next to each one, how they lead. Here is what I wrote at the time:

SUPERMAN: The leader who forges ahead like a locomotive

SPIDER-MAN: The self-sacrificing servant leader

BATMAN: The leader who leads from the back, analyzing

CAPTAIN AMERICA: The brilliant unifier and strategist

WONDER WOMAN: The strong and versatile female lead

WOLVERINE: The passionate situational leader

ORACLE: The behind-the-scenes information broker and liaison

NICK FURY: The strong and dedicated positional leader

PROFESSOR X: The recruiting, teaching, and mentoring leader

AQUAMAN: The committed inheritor of high-stakes leadership

IRON MAN: The charismatic and bold genius

OPTIMUS PRIME: The wise and compassionate father figure

And with that list, a book was born – MY BOOK! Even at the time, I just knew this list of different superheroes and their different ways of leading was going to comprise the crux of my table of contents for, (drum-roll)… LEAD LIKE A SUPERHERO – What Pop Culture Icons Can Teach Us About Impactful Leadership.

As a student of leadership and a comic book aficionado, I knew I had been blessed with inspiration from above to write a book that would appeal to those who are into personal growth and who are fans of superheroes as well.

You see, growing up, I loved comics and found much inspirations from the pages of DC and Marvel comics. I always found that the values they espoused, for the most part, transcend gender, culture, and generations. Heroism is universal, and so is leadership. And, I know for a fact that I’m not the only one inspired by comic books. We are legion out there! So, with LEAD LIKE A SUPERHERO, I hope to raise up an army of leaders and aspiring leaders who will be more than willing to ditch the suit… and embrace the cape!

LEAD LIKE A SUPERHERO is available here: https://thrivingonpurpose.com/books/

Or, on Amazon and where good books are sold online (for Pre-Order)

One thought on “LEAD LIKE A SUPERHERO

Leave a Reply

