Vital To All, Attractive To Few

“Men are anxious to improve their circumstances, but are unwilling to improve themselves; they therefore remain bound.” – James Allen

I began my journey into what is called ‘personal growth’ about a year ago. It has changed my life in incredible ways. Mind you, before that, for the previous twenty years, my reading, which was extensive, centered around christian living and theology. I must surmise, this too was transforming in more ways than one – obviously. So I did have a solid base on which to build. However, my mindset was wrong. The result was that I suffered with profound bouts of depression and was always pursuing that ever so elusive ‘Joy, joy, joy, down in my heart.’ Now the problem wasn’t Christianity, the Bible, and definitely not Christ. The problem was me; my mindset, my outlook, my understanding of how I am wired. Studying the masters of personal growth such as James Allen (quoted above), Jim Rohn, Les Brown and John C. Maxwell literally unbound me. It unchained my potential to a degree that I can hardly fathom. Get this, in the last year, since I began studying personal growth, I got certified in The John Maxwell Team… and I wrote two books! Now, I am not saying this to toot my own horn. I am just trying to stress the immense benefit that can come from personal growth. It is vital to all human beings to grow. Like John Henry Newman said: “Growth is the only evidence of life.”

It has, however, grieved me to see how few people see the value of growing themselves. They choose to remain bound, as James Allen would say. I have pondered this phenomena to try to unravel what makes one embrace personal growth while another might shun it. Here is what I have found:

  • Personal growth requires a deep desire for change in one’s life. It requires much intentionality to start.
  • Personal growth requires humility. When you embrace personal growth, you are in fact saying: I am not all that I can be. I have much to learn.
  • Personal growth requires a lot of work. Jim Rohn summed it up well when he admonished: “Work harder on yourself than you do at your job.”

Those three ingredients:desire, humility, and hard work are not as common as we think. In fact, they are quite a rare combination. Most people choose to remain bound, for becoming free requires desire and, yes, work. As Darren Hardy, owner of Success Magazine once put it: “Success is hard friggin work.” Truer words are seldom heard in today’s “If you believe it you can achieve it”, wishy-washy, fluffy social mindset. Personal growth which leads to great success in indeed quite difficult to achieve. Nevertheless, like the great Jim Rohn once put it, “Success is something you attract, not something you pursue.” And you attract it by the person you become. And the person you become will be determined by the level of personal growth you invest in. Personal growth is indeed vital to all, and yet attractive to few. Begin your journey today!

http://www.thrivingonpurpose.com

 

Leave a Reply

